Within These Lines by Stephanie Morrill

Banner_WithinTheseLines_Blog

Welcome to the Blog & Review Tour – and Giveaway – for Within These Lines by Stephanie Morrill, hosted by JustRead Publicity Tours!

ABOUT THE BOOK

9780310765264Title: Within These Lines
Author: Stephanie Morrill
Publisher: Blink YA
Genre: Historical Young Adult Fiction
Release Date: March 5, 2019

When Evalina Cassano and Taichi Hamasaki are torn apart by the events following the attack on Pearl Harbor, they must fight if they want any hope of returning to one another before World War II steals their future together. Within These Lines is one unflinching, haunting, historical novel you don’t want to miss; perfect for fans of Monica Hesse, Ruta Sepetys, and Elizabeth Wein.

Evalina Cassano’s life in an Italian-American family living in San Francisco in 1941 is quiet and ordinary until she falls in love with Taichi Hamasaki, the son of Japanese immigrants. Despite the scandal it would cause and that inter-racial marriage is illegal in California, Evalina and Taichi vow they will find a way to be together. But anti-Japanese feelings erupt across the country after the attack on Pearl Harbor, and Taichi and his family are forced to give up their farm and move to a Japanese-American internment camp.

Degrading treatment makes life at Manzanar Relocation Center difficult. Taichi’s only connection to the outside world is treasured letters from Evalina. Feeling that the only action she can take to help Taichi is to speak out against injustice, Evalina becomes increasingly vocal at school and at home. Meanwhile, inside Manzanar, fighting between different Japanese-American factions arises. Taichi begins to doubt he will ever leave the camp alive.

With tensions running high and their freedom on the line, Evalina and Taichi must hold true to their ideals and believe in their love to make a way back to each other against unbelievable odds.

MY THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK 

Evalina Cassano and Taichi Hamasaki both lives in San Francisco with their parents. Evalina’s parents purchase produce from Hamasaki’s parents. As they spend time together, they fall in love. Something that shouldn’t have happened. Interracial marriage is illegal in California and Taichi is the son of Japanese immigrants. After the attack on Pearl Harbor, the Hamasaki Family we’re forced to move to a Japanese-American internment camp. But these two young people determined to find a way to be together. But will the government continue to keep them apart?

This is a haunting novel indeed. The degrading way the Japanese were rudely taken from their homes, and even more degrading way their living conditions were in the internment camp were difficult to read. And I think of the way California laws are today, it’s difficult to believe  there was a time they didn’t allow inter-racial marriages!

Stephanie Morrill’s Within These Lines is a wonderfully written historical fiction that takes readers back to a very difficult time in history. The historical events in the book was like taking a trip back in time, living the attack on Pearl Harbor and all of the after effects. The characters were skillfully created and played their parts well as the story developed. I am glad to know Evelina and Taichi, and to walk with them through the darkest moments of their lives, as well as the happier times. Their determination to take what life threw at them was a powerful story to read. Even though this book is written for the YA market, I thoroughly enjoyed it. If you enjoy war stories, stories with the historical setting at the time of Pearl Harbor, you will I’ve reading this book!

I received this book from JustReads Tours to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal  Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55.

 

 

Within These Lines:

  • Is a young adult historical novel set in the World War II era
  • Contains themes of love, separation, social justice, war, and diversity
  • Perfect for junior high and high school students
  • A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard selection

PURCHASE LINKS*: Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Christian Book | iTunes


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

stephanie-morrill-low-res-227x300

Stephanie Morrill writes books about girls who are on an adventure to discover their unique place in the world. She is the author of several contemporary young adult series, as well as the 1920s mystery, The Lost Girl of Astor Street, and the WWII era romance, Within These Lines. Since 2010, Stephanie has been encouraging the next generation of writers at her website, GoTeenWriters.com. She lives in the Kansas City area, where she loves plotting big and small adventures to enjoy with her husband and three children. You can connect with Stephanie and learn more about her books at StephanieMorrill.com, Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter.

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR: website | facebook | twitter | instagram


GIVEAWAY

Giveaway_WithinTheseLines

(1) Grand Prize winner will win a release copy of Within These Lines & a special designed poster of Within These Lines from the publisher, Blink YA. Featured quote on poster: “Be Brave Enough to Care and Bold Enough to Act”

(5) First Prize winners will each with a special designed poster of Within These Lines from the publisher, Blink YA. Featured quote on poster: “Be Brave Enough to Care and Bold Enough to Act”

Be sure to check out each stop on the Bookstagram Tour and (upcoming) Takeover Tour, as well as this tour for more chances to win. Full tour schedule shown below. Giveaway began at midnight March 5, 2019 and will last through 11:59 PM EST on March 18, 2019. Winners will be notified within 2 weeks of close of the giveaway and given 48 hours to respond or risk forfeiture of prize. Due to shipping cost, only US mailing addresses valid. For our giveaway rules and policy, click HERE.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Follow along at JustRead Tours for a full list of stops!

Be sure to stop at the following tours for more chances to win!

Banner_WithinTheseLines_IG2

*NOTE: This post contains affiliate links.

JustRead Logo

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. carylkane
    Mar 13, 2019 @ 20:30:21

    Excellent review!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Read Books!

Read the Printed Word!

Goodreads Challenge

2011 Reading Challenge

2011 Reading Challenge
Ibjoy1953 has

completed a goal of reading 100 books in 2011!

hide

Goodreads

DoorKeeper

reneeannsmith.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,434 other followers

%d bloggers like this: