Isaiah’s Daughter by Mesu Andrews

51p3NKtbvwL

About this book

In this epic Biblical narrative, ideal for fans of The Bibleminiseries, a young woman taken into the prophet Isaiah’s household rises to capture the heart of the future king.

Isaiah adopts Ishma, giving her a new name–Zibah, delight of the Lord–thereby ensuring her royal pedigree. Ishma came to the prophet’s home, devastated after watching her family destroyed and living as a captive. But as the years pass, Zibah’s lively spirit wins Prince Hezekiah’s favor, a boy determined to rebuild the kingdom his father has nearly destroyed. But loving this man will awake in her all the fears and pain of her past and she must turn to the only One who can give life, calm her fears, and deliver a nation.

“Andrews (The Pharaoh’s Daughter) offers her unique brand of in-depth Bible knowledge and storytelling flair … [she] is gifted at bringing the past to life…” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

MY THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK 

I am picky about the Biblical fiction I read, and Mesu Andrews is one of the few authors I read that writes this genre. And Isaiah’s Daughter is another amazing read from Ms. Andrews. I love that she has given her readers a story about Ishma. As I read the story of this young lady who had lost everything, including her family, my heart ached for her. But God had plans for this orphaned girl that even she found hard to believe. The journey is an amazing one as I watched Ishma grow into a beautiful young lady, winning the eye of Hezekiah, soon to be king.

One main thing reading this story is that you will certainly realize the in-depth study and vivid detail research by Mesu Andrews. As well as the knowledge she has of the Old Testament. This is what makes her books so interesting to read. And though the facts of the Bible are correct, the fiction is the acts of her imagination of what it was like back in the days of Isaiah, and when Hezekiah was King and Zibah (Ishma) was Queen. And this is another reason I love reading Ms. Andrews’ books. It is so unique interesting to imagine with this author how these people of the Bible lived. It brings the characters to life before your eyes. With almost 400 pages, as you can imagine,  there is so much going on here in these pages, you need to read them for yourself and enjoy their meaning. And expect to experience in vivid details the accounts that happened during King Hezekiah’s reign, and his Abba before him.

I want to thank author Mesu Andrews for providing a copy of Isaiah’s Daughter for the JustRead Blind tour. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions here in this review are totally mine alone. I am disclosing this with my review in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

 

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 71dCkeWILeL._US230_

Christy-Award winning author  Mesu Andrews’s deep understanding of–and love for– God’s Word brings the biblical world alive for readers. She is the author of Love Amid the Ashes and numerous other novels including The Pharaoh’s Daughter and Miriam. Mesu lives in North Carolina with her husband Roy and enjoys spending time with her growing tribe of grandchildren.

Of Lions and Fire by Mesu Andrews.

Of Fire and Lions

A Novel

by Mesu Andrews

C90AC2E3-0FCF-4156-8213-0BF4A2001D73

ABOUT THE BOOK

MY THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

 

About Mesu Andrews

A59933CD-AFBB-49B9-9C24-3D9A0ACFB843

MESU ANDREWS is the Christy Award-winning author of Isaiah’s Daughter and numerous other novels, including The Pharaoh’s Daughter, Miriam, Of Fire and Lions and Love Amid the Ashes. Her deep understanding of and love for God’s Word brings the biblical world alive for readers. Mesu lives in North Carolina with her husband, Roy, and enjoys spending time with her growing tribe of grandchildren.

CFBA Presents Pharaoh’s Daughter by Mesu Andrews

This week, the 

Christian Fiction Blog Alliance 

is introducing 

Pharaoh’s Daughter 

WaterBrook Press (March 17, 2015) 

by 

Mesu AndrewsABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Mesu Andrews’ deep understanding of and love for God’s Word brings the biblical world alive for her readers. She and her husband, Roy, enjoyed fourteen years of pastoral ministry before moving to the Pacific Northwest, where Roy now serves as Academic Dean at Multnomah Biblical Seminary. Mesu writes full-time, snuggled in her recliner beside a cozy fire on rainy Northwest days. The Andrews’ enjoy visiting their two married daughters and a growing tribe of grandkids. Mesu loves movies, football, waterfalls, and travel.

Biblical fiction is her favorite genre to read and write. Her first novel, Love Amid the Ashes (Revell, 2011), tells the story of Job and won the 2012 ECPA Book of the Year for a Debut Author.

ABOUT THE BOOK

“Fear is the most fertile ground for faith.”

“You will be called Anippe, daughter of the Nile. Do you like it?” Without waiting for a reply, she pulls me into her squishy, round tummy for a hug.

I’m trying not to cry. Pharaoh’s daughters don’t cry.

When we make our way down the tiled hall, I try to stop at ummi Kiya’s chamber. I know her spirit has flown yet I long for one more moment. Amenia pushes me past so I keep walking and don’t look back.

Like the waters of the Nile, I will flow.

Anippe has grown up in the shadows of Egypt’s good god Pharaoh, aware that Anubis, god of the afterlife, may take her or her siblings at any moment. She watched him snatch her mother and infant brother during childbirth, a moment which awakens in her a terrible dread of ever bearing a child. Now she is to be become the bride of Sebak, a kind but quick-tempered Captain of Pharaoh Tut’s army. In order to provide Sebak the heir he deserves and yet protect herself from the underworld gods, Anippe must launch a series of deceptions, even involving the Hebrew midwives—women ordered by Tut to drown the sons of their own people in the Nile.

When she finds a baby floating in a basket on the great river, Anippe believes Egypt’s gods have answered her pleas, entrenching her more deeply in deception and placing her and her son Mehy, whom handmaiden Miriam calls Moses, in mortal danger.

As bloodshed and savage politics shift the balance of power in Egypt, the gods reveal their fickle natures and Anippe wonders if her son, a boy of Hebrew blood, could one day become king. Or does the god of her Hebrew servants, the one they call El Shaddai, have a different plan—for them all?

If you would like to read the first chapter of Pharaoh’s Daughter, go HERE.

MY THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK

I love, love Mesu Andrews books!!!  I have all of them, I’ve read every one, and she is just fantastic! The story of  Moses and Pharaoh Daughter has always been one of my favorite stories. Even as a small child, I loved hearing the story, seeing the pictures displayed on the flannel board that we had then, and coloring pictures of Moses in his little basket hiding in the water among the bushes. But nothing I have ever read or heard has brought this story to life the way Mesu Andrews did in this new book. If you are looking for an awesome Biblical fiction, this is one you don’t want to miss!

I received this book from Litfuse to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55.

Read Books!

Read the Printed Word!

Goodreads Challenge

2011 Reading Challenge

2011 Reading Challenge
Ibjoy1953 has

completed a goal of reading 100 books in 2011!

hide

Goodreads

DoorKeeper

reneeannsmith.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,544 other followers