A Ranger’s Trail by Darlene Franklin

A Ranger’s Trail

by Darlene Franklin

About This Book

This is the fourth book in a six-book series about four generations of the Morgan family living, fighting, and thriving amidst a turbulent Texas history spanning from 1845 to 1896. Although a series, each book can be read on its own.

In 1875 Buck Morgan rode into Mason County with the Texas Rangers to quell the violence stirred up by the actions a vigilantly mob. The Hoo Doo (or bad luck) War erupted as suspected cattle rustlers were murdered by an angry mob.  Former ranger, Scott Cooley, gathers a gang to seek vengeance for the murders.
Suspected of cattle rustling, Leta Derrick’s husband was murdered by the mob a year earlier. Now she is siding with the rogue ranger, Scott Cooley and refuses to help Buck Morgan stem the tide of violence.
Will their actions fuel the fire of vengeance? Or will Buck and Leta strike an accord that leads to more than just peace?


Buck Morgan enjoyed his family, but he just couldn’t see himself tied down to ranch life, even though that’s what his family wanted. Being a Texas Ranger was in his blood, and nothing else would satisfy that longing.

Leta Denning would forever be angry at the Germans because they killed her husband in cold blood with her watching. Now she is left running the ranch with her teenage brother Andy and her young son Ricky.

As Buck spends more and more time at the Denning ranch, he realizes that Leta couldn’t run the ranch without help, so along with his duties as Texas Ranger, he also does everything he can to help around the ranch, without Leta’s knowing, that is.  But Buck also knows someone needs to protect Leta because of the wrath and fighting among the people. Things get a bit nasty, and someone needs to step in and gain control.

I am thoroughly enjoying this Texas Trails, Morgan Family series from River North. Book four, A Ranger’s Trail continues the Morgan family story. I have enjoyed getting to know Texas a bit better, even though the setting is years earlier. It is interesting to see how folks lived in those early days.

I really like Leta. She was strong, yet sometimes she showed weakness, but after seeing her husband murdered, how else could she be! Buck was just the right person for her. The attraction was so subdued at first, it just made things sweet between them. And as usual, there are the bad guys, and they didn’t care who they shot, young or old. The Texas Rangers were on the case though, and everything would turn out right? Wouldn’t it?

This is a great series and a very good read to continue the Morgan Family saga. I strongly encourage you to grab a copy of this book, along with the first three books and enjoy the journey of the Morgan’s.

This book was provided by River North Fiction
for me to read and review. I was not required or expected to write a positive
review. The opinions in this review are mine only.



About   Darlene Franklin
DARLENE FRANKLIN is the author of fourteen contracted books and novellas as well as several hundred short pieces. Two of her books have been finalists in ACFW’s Book of the year contest: Dressed in Scarlet and A String of Murders. Darlene lives in Oklahoma near her son’s family. Visit her website www.darlenefranklinwrites.blogspot.com for information on upcoming titles.

%d bloggers like this: