The Ancient Words Series By A. M. Heath

The Ancient Words Series consists of two books: Where Can I flee (released August 13, 2014) and In The Shadow Of They Wings (December 8, 2015). Both books were independently published. To purchase your copy of Where Can I flee, click here. To purchase your copy of In The Shadow Of Thy Wings, click here.

Book Information:

where can i fleeWhere Can I Flee

War is on the horizon during the spring of 1861. It will be an event that will change the lives of everyone in its path. The Harper family included.

Frank Harper is a young man full of dreams and ambitions. Even when the country is split and war breaks out, Frank will do whatever is necessary to see his dreams come true, even when that means putting on a uniform and leaving home.

For the first time, Claire Harper is forced to consider the reasons behind such a conflict. Should slavery be abolished? Which side should she be on, and what does God have to say about this? Claire is torn between her own opinions and those of her family. The struggle within her only increases when she repeatedly runs into a kind and handsome Union soldier. She longs to see her brother turn to Christ before it is too late. Desperate to reach her brother with the gospel, Claire pens a series of inspiring letters. Will she be able to handle all the obstacles of war and continue to be a witness to those around her?

How long can Claire last when her heart is torn in half and she is burdened for her brother’s soul? How long can Frank resist his sister’s urgent pleas or the gentle tugging from within? Can a man outrun a holy God?



Where Can I Flee
This is my first book by this author, and I thoroughly enjoyed Where Can I Flee! Claire Harper is struggling with her brother fighting in the war because she doesn’t want to loose him. After going to church and hearing the gospel, Claire gives her life to the Lord, and her concern for her brother is even more severe because she knows he is not a Christian. A. M. Heath does a fabulous job of giving the gospel of Jesus to her readers through the lives of these wonderful characters. The characters are believable and the more I read the story the more I felt like they were real friends.

The setting being during the Civil War, it was difficult to read a lot of the scenes because of the sadness of the tragic events. But through it all, the characters and families were brought closer together with each other and with the Lord. This is truly a book that you do not want to miss, especially if you are a fan of books written during the Civil War!

In the Shadow of Thy Wings

in the shadow of thy wingsDevastation sweeps across the land, and the families of Maple Grove cannot escape when war arrives at their front doors. After her father entrusts her with a new and dangerous task, Sally Chandler must find the courage to obey despite her fear. Meanwhile, her best friend, Claire Harper, is determined to serve others, even if it means putting herself in danger. But with a certain handsome Union soldier stationed nearby, Claire finds her heart in danger of falling for the enemy. Their differing loyalties create complications that neither could expect; her twin brother fighting for the Confederacy is only one of them. Frank Harper left home with one goal in mind – to become a prosperous plantation owner. Two years later, not only is he further from his goal, but he’s beginning to question his own desires–something that becomes more complicated when his heart becomes involved. The families of Maple Grove must learn how to survive the uncertainty of war and a country split in two. While the war in the nation rages on, the battle within grows stronger. Will they learn that the only safe place to hide is in the shadow of Thy Wings?



In the Shadow of Thy Wings centers around the Maple Grove neighborhood during the war, and those facing horrific and difficult situations. Claire harper is determined to help those who are injured in the war, which puts her in the path of a certain Union Soldier, and in a dangerous situation. Frank Harper never dreamed that two years after he enlisted, he would still be fighting in the war, but there seems to be no end. This book took a few interesting twists and turns that made the story more entertaining and mysterious, and I couldn’t put it down! Again, the characters in In The Shadow of Thy Wings were well developed, likeable and believable. This is a series that I want to read again, just to see if I missed anything the first time. I highly recommend In The Shadow of Thy Wings, and I can’t wait for book three in this series. I encourage you to check this book out today!

I received this book from Celebration Tours to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55.

Author Information:

Being raise in a small Tennessee town, A.M. Heath grew up with a love for southern history and nostalgia. She lives with her husband and four children in Southern Tennessee where they embrace the small town lifestyle.


%d bloggers like this: