On Love’s Gentle Shores by Liz Johnson plus Giveaway

On Love’s Gentle Shores

by Liz Johnson

Author Liz Johnson has graciously offering a copy of On Love’s Gental Shores to one person in the US who comments on my blog! Scroll to the end for more info!

About

Fifteen years after she left Prince Edward Island, Natalie O’Ryan had no plans to return. But when her fiancé, music producer Russell Jacobs, books their wedding in her hometown and schedules a summer at Rose’s Red Door Inn, she sets out to put the finishing touches on the perfect wedding. But she can’t possibly prepare for a run-in with Justin Kane–the best friend she left behind all those years ago after promising to stay.

Justin’s never forgotten Natalie or the music career he always dreamed of pursuing. He’d been prepared to follow her off the island until his dad died and he was left to run the family dairy farm. He’s done the best he can with the life that was thrust upon him–but with Natalie back in the picture, he begins to realize just how much joy he’s been missing.

After Natalie’s reception venue falls through, she must scramble to find an alternative, and the only option seems to be a barn on Justin’s property. As they work together to get the dilapidated building ready for the party, Natalie and Justin discover the groundwork for forgiveness–and that there may be more than an old friendship between them.

 

My THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK 

I just finished reading On Love’s Gentle Shores and Wow, Liz Johnson is an amazing writer! From the beautiful shores of PEI to the personal secret feelings of its characters, Ms. Johnson describes every little detail in a way that you feel you are living in the story as one of the characters.

The very last person Natalie O’Ryan wanted to see when she came back to PEI after 15 years was her one time best friend, Justin Kane. But wouldn’t you know he would be one of the first people she would see. And if she didn’t want to see Justin, well, he was more adamant about seeing her! Eventually emotions explode, and not in a good way, one letting the other know they had been severely hurt. But when Natalie’s fiancé has to go back to his job for weeks leaving her alone to plan the wedding, Russell suggests that Natalie’s friend Justin help her. But if Russell only knew, and if course he didn’t because Natalie hadn’t told him.

I so much enjoyed this whirlwind of a journey as the story plays out and emotions and tensions grow stronger every day between Natalie and Justin. And Liz Johnson makes sure we as readers feel every ounce of those feelings. Of course I fell in love with Justin, and Natalie was just the sweetest, but my reason for wanting them together so much was the past they had shared as best friends. And I’m going to stop at that because I don’t want to give away anything else. It will ruin everything for you, so you really need to read this one for yourself. Natalie, Russell and Justin’s story can be read as a stand alone, but it will much more interesting if you read the first two books in the series.

This book was given to me by the author, Lis Johnson. I was not required to write a review of this book. I chose to write this review, and the opinions are mine alone!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

 

By day Liz Johnson is a marketing manager for a Christian publisher. By night she makes up her own love stories. She is the author of seven novels, a New York Times bestselling novella, and a handful of short Christmas stories. She’s also a two-time ACFW Carol Award finalist.

Liz is a graduate of Northern Arizona University in Flagstaff, where she earned a degree in public relations.

Now a resident of Nashville, she enjoys exploring local music, theater, and history of Middle Tennesee. She also takes every chance she can to visit Arizona to dote on her nieces and nephews. She writes stories filled with heart, humor, and happily ever afters.

http://www.LizJohnsonBooks.com.

 

A LITTLE MORE INFO ON LIZ JOHNSON

 

About Liz Johnson
How long have you been writing?
I wrote my first short story when I was seven and signed my first book contract when I was 27. In those years I kept writing and writing. I wrote my first novel when I was twelve, and it was a terrible western romance. I continued writing stories throughout high school and tried my hand at another novel in college. It was also really terrible. But I kept taking classes and learning and growing as a writer. And then when I was twenty-five I told a friend of mine about a book idea I had. She told me to set up a writing calendar, and then she checked with me every day to make sure I’d written the night before. That book—after many rounds of revisions—became my first published novel, The Kidnapping of Kenzie Thorn.

Why do you write?
Writing is a necessity for me. If I go too long without writing, the voices in my head start getting rowdy.

What’s the hardest thing about writing?
Overcoming distractions and fear. Like the dog who sees a squirrel, I’m easily distracted by interesting things. A new bit of research. A funny video. Pictures on Facebook. Pushing the distractions aside is hard but an essential part of writing. And the same is true of silencing the voices of doubt that I hear every time I sit down to start a new chapter. It’s easier to listen to that fear than it is to tell it it’s wrong and trust that you have an important message to share.

How long does it take you to write a book?
Every book is different, and I give myself enough time to write each one to the best of my ability. But my last couple Love Inspired Suspense books have each taken me about three months to finish.

What do you like to read?
I love to read just about anything I can get my hands on! Lately I’ve been reading a lot of Regency era romances by authors like Julie Klassen. I also love westerns by Karen Witemeyer and Regina Jennings. Sandra Orchard is a favorite in the romantic suspense genre. I also love general market favorites like The Princess Bride, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, and Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand. I wish I had more time to read, as there are so many good books releasing every day. But if I read as much I’d like to, then I’d never write!

What’s the best advice you have for aspiring writers?
Finish your manuscript. It’s hard work. It takes a long time, but there’s nothing like writing your first manuscript to practice writing. One of the best ways to get better at writing is by writing. So get your seat in a chair and your fingers on a keyboard (or pencil to paper) and get writing.

Is it true you once worked at Walt Disney World?
That is true.

What was it like?
It was the hardest job I’ve ever loved. There’s something amazingly wonderful about taking personal responsibility for giving every guest a great day.

What’s your least favorite household chore?
Getting my car cleaned. I’m terrified of being stuck in the carwash, so I avoid it at all costs.

What’s your favorite food?
My dad’s hamburgers. They’re always perfect and so tasty.

How can I get in touch with you?
Hop on over to the contact page and shoot me a note. Or visit me on Facebook or twitter. I try to respond to everyone who contacts me.

GIVEAWAY  Sept 3 thru Sept 15th

One entry for commenting on my review. Additional entry if you like my post. And another entry for following my blog.

Three entries in all. And please tell me in the comments if you do the additional entries.

Giveaway good only if I have 10 or more sign up. I will extend the time if there is not enough.

 

Please! Leave your emails in the comments. I’m not able to get your email if it is not in the comments. You can use the format

youremail at yahoo dot com

Thank  you for supporting my blog!

 

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sharontimmer1959
    Sep 03, 2017 @ 21:45:21

    I LOVED The Red Door Inn so I really hope I win this copy of On Loves Gentle Shore – what a great review!!

    Reply

  2. sharontimmer1959
    Sep 03, 2017 @ 21:56:22

    My e-mail is stimmer@familylife.com

    Reply

  3. Teresa Rose
    Sep 03, 2017 @ 22:30:40

    Sounds like a great book. I loved Red Door Inn. Would love to win a copy of this one.

    Reply

  4. Paula
    Sep 03, 2017 @ 22:44:41

    I’ve got Red Door Inn on my kindle but haven’t had the chance to read it yet. These books all look so good. paulams49ATsbcglobalDOTnet. Thanks

    Reply

  5. Shirl Boughner
    Sep 04, 2017 @ 07:54:43

    I think your review was excellent. I loved The Red Door Inn books 1 and 2. Liz Johnston caught my attention with the first few pages and I was intrigued as I knew exactly where she was writing about – North Rustico on beautiful Prince Edward Island where I’m headed again next summer. I have saved your blog to browse further when I have time – it’s laundry day so busy this morning.

    Reply

  6. Jackie Smith
    Sep 04, 2017 @ 09:32:13

    I am loving this series and am so anxious to get my hands on this one!
    THANKS for your giveaway.
    jacsmi75 at gmail dot com

    Reply

  7. Trixi O.
    Sep 04, 2017 @ 11:46:29

    I have read so many great reviews on this entire Prince Edward Island series that I really, really want to read them for myself 🙂 Lovely review, gets me excited for the chance to win a copy. Great blog post, a lot of fun to read!

    I’ve liked this post, and now follow your blog via email. Thanks for the giveaway and extra chances, blessings!

    teamob4 (at) gmail (dot) com

    Reply

  8. Doretha
    Sep 04, 2017 @ 19:12:10

    Just about to read Red Door Inn…..Would love to read the sequel!!!

    Reply

  9. Martha Peace
    Sep 05, 2017 @ 04:43:04

    Love your books,thanks for a chance to win

    Reply

  10. Connie Shaffer
    Sep 12, 2017 @ 05:58:58

    I just finished The Red Door Inn at 4:30AM. Woke up and just had to finish it!
    I may have just stumbled across another favorite author! I would be so happy to win a copy of On Loves Gentle Shore.

    Reply

  11. Splashes of Joy
    Sep 17, 2017 @ 08:01:45

    Ok several of you didn’t leave your email so I am going to give you a little time to do that! You will love this book. Liz Johnson is a wonderful author.
    Blessings. Joy

    Reply

  12. Heidi Robbins
    Sep 19, 2017 @ 00:41:39

    I’ve heard this is a great series! It sounds like one I’ll enjoy. thanks for the giveaway!
    colorvibrant at gmail dot com

    Reply

  13. Nancy M
    Sep 19, 2017 @ 18:03:00

    I have the other 2 in the series! I need this one to complete it!

    Reply

  14. Splashes of Joy
    Oct 13, 2017 @ 14:43:05

    Ok I want to say I’m sorry that I kept asking for emails after you had already posted it once!
    I’m learning more about how to do giveaways so next time it will be much easier on everyone!
    I did select a winner in random.org and the winner for Lia Johnson’s book is Shirl Boughner. I have contacted Shirl and am awaiting her response!
    Thank you again and congratulations Shirl!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

