Les Misérables by Victor Hugo and Jim Reimann

Les Misérables

by Victor Hugo and Jim Reimann

Les Misérables by Victor Hugo and Jim Reimann

ABOUT THIS BOOK

Here’s the epic story that spawned Hollywood films and Broadway musicals—in a condensed and updated version perfect for the twenty-first century reader seeking its redemptive message. Born of the unrest that pervaded France after the failure of its eighteenth-century revolution, Les Misérables follows the journey of Jean Valjean from depravity and corruption to grace and redemption. The eclectic cast of characters accompanying Valjean causes us to empathize with the condition of the human spirit—from Fantine, the desperate single mother, to the cold justice of Javert, to the passion of Cosette, to the revolutionary spirit in Marius. This retelling of Hugo’s epic 1862 novel retains the richness that is Les Mis, in approximately one-fifth of the original wording.

MY THOUGHS ON THIS BOOK

Wow there is so much to this book. I had never read this book, nor watched movies or anything, so I was in awe of the entire story.  This story follows Jean Valjean from depravity and corruption to grace and redemption, with the most amazing wide range of characters, I simply didn’t want the book to end. I will have to say that sometimes the book was kinda of complicated to read, and I would find my self shifting away from the story for a while, but then I was right back into it. But the message is the main thing, and that is the redemption and grace of Jean Valjean. From a life of corruption to the face of redemption, you will be in awe of this story. A story that everyone should read at some point in their lives!

I received this book from Barbour Books to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55.

Leave a Reply

