Love’s Sweet Beginning by Ann Shorney from Revell

Love Sweet Beginning

by Ann Shorney

What will it take for a once-privileged young woman to make her way in the world?

It isn’t Cassie Haddon’s fault that she has reached the age of twenty-five without possessing any useful skills. Until the War Between the States, she always had servants. Since then, she and her mother have been forced to rely on family to care for them. But now the well of human kindness has run dry–and Cassie must find work to support them.
Unfortunately, leaving the past behind is easier said than done, and Cassie must summon all of her courage and wits to convince local restaurateur and grocer Jacob West that she’s exactly what his business needs.
With her signature sweet romance, Ann Shorey weaves a tale of two people from different backgrounds finding common ground and the hope of a bright future together.




I have been looking forward to reading Love’s Sweet Beginning, the third book in Ann Shorney’s Sisters at Heart Series, and I loved it, loved it loved it! I really like Cassie, and as she struggled to find her way in real life after being pampered all of her life was heartwarming. At least she was willing to work as a dishwasher in order to provide for she and her mother. I got annoyed at Cassie’s mother though, the way she expected to move in on someone and have them take care of her hand and foot. This mother and daughter pair had a lot to learn about living, thanks to the war that took everything from them. This is a wonderfully written historical fiction, and I know you will enjoy it just as much as I did! This is a delightful read that everyone will enjoy. Though it is better to read the three books in order, it is just as interesting reading Love’s Sweet Beginning as a stand alone!

I received this book from the publisher Revell to read and review.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55


Ann Shorey

Ann Shorey

Ann Shorey is the author of the At Home in Beldon Grove series, Where Wildflowers Bloom, and When the Heart Heals. She has also published selections in the Cup of Comfort series and in Chicken Soup for the Grandma’s Soul. Ann and her husband make their home in southwestern Oregon. Learn more at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Read Books!

Read the Printed Word!

Goodreads Challenge

2011 Reading Challenge

2011 Reading Challenge
Ibjoy1953 has

completed a goal of reading 100 books in 2011!




Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,636 other followers

%d bloggers like this: