Emma of Aurora Trilogy by Jane Kirkpatrick

Emma of Aurora

by Jane Kirkpatrick




About this book Trilogy

The Change and Cherish trilogy, based on the true story of Emma Wagner Giesy, now available in one volume:

A Clearing in the Wild
When Emma’s outspoken ways and growing skepticism lead to a clash with the 1850s Bethel, Missouri colony’s beloved leader, she finds new opportunities to pursue her dreams of independence. But as she clears a pathway West to her truest and deepest self, she discovers something she never expected: a yearning for the warm embrace of community.

A Tendering in the Storm
Determined to raise her children on her own terms, Emma suddenly finds herself alone and pregnant with her third child, struggling to keep her family secure in the remote coastal forest of the Washington Territory. As clouds of despair close in, she must decide whether to continue in her own waning strength or to humble herself and accept help from the very people she once so eagerly left behind.

A Mending at the Edge
As a mother, daughter, sister, and estranged wife, Emma struggles to find her place inside—and outside—the confines of her religious community. Emma reaches out to others on the fringe, searching for healing and purpose. By blending her unique talents with service to others, she creates renewed hope as she weaves together the threads of family, friends, and faith.



If you love reading big books, well, this is the one to get. Emma of Aurora is three books in one, it is the complete Change And Cherish Trilogy by Jane Kirkpatrick in one big almost 1200 page book, and I love it! When I finished reading the first book, A Clearing in the Wild I was excited because I didn’t have to wait to read the second book, A Tendering in the Storm, then I could finish the series with The Mending at the Edge, all at once.

Emma of Aurora is based on a true story Emma Wagner, and it follows the life of Emma Wagner Giesy. Emma was one of many Christians, all having the same things in common with each other. I really enjoyed Emma’s character because she was feisty and determined, strong willed, opinionated woman, and she didn’t care who knew it! After the death of her husband, Emma’s task of raising her children on her own was not an easy one, and she didn’t always make the best decisions. As I read the books, it was easy to see that everything wasn’t what you would think in the Christian community she lived in. They sure had their difficulties as well as anyone else. And weaved together with Emma’s difficulties in her personal life, there are many twists and turns that will sure to keep your attention and keep you reading! Though at times, this book was very difficult to read, because of the situations.

Knowing this book is based on a the true life of Emma makes the story even more interesting to me. I really love this book, despite the difficult times I had reading it. The story is one that you can’t put down because you want to know the ending. Jane Kirkpatrick is an awesome storyteller, and it clearly shows in this Trilogy! If you enjoy historical fiction, you will love this one! I encourage you to pick up a copy for many hours of just plain good reading!

I received this book from the publisher Waterbrook through their Blogging For Books review program to read and review.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Read Books!

Read the Printed Word!
%d bloggers like this: