Remembering My Mom……Rachel Virginia Chattin Today

REMEMBERING MY MOM, SEPTEMBER 16, 2013

100_3233

Today has been a bittersweet day for me. Three years ago today, Sept. 16, 2010 at around 4:20am my precious mama took her last breath here on earth and entered into the arms of her Lord. Even though she was 79 years old, her death took us by surprise because she was getting along so well. This is a picture of mama and her Sheltie, Alex. Mama loved him as much as she did any of us, because he was with her all of the time when we couldn’t be.

Today has been bitter because I miss my mom so much and I didn’t want to give her up. She was my mom, but she was my best friend too and I feel so lost without her. She was a special lady, and doing things for others is what made her happy. She truly had the heart of a servant, and everyone around her benefited from something she gave them. She was truly a Proverbs 31 Woman!

Today has been sweet because of the sweet and precious memories I have in my heart about mama. As I think about her last few hours with us, I remember how strong she was, not a flicker of doubt where she would be when she stopped breathing. When the Dr told her he was giving her something to relax her and she would go to sleep and not wake up, she said “That’s ok, when I wake up, I will wake up with my Lord.” What a blessing to have that memory. She talked to each of us, telling us what she wanted us to do in the future, telling us what to do with different things, and trying to make the night easier on everyone else. She knew her homegoing was gonna be difficult for her sister and our Aunt Edna,  so she tried to encourage her throughout the night as well. She was the one encouraging everyone that night, she was the most amazing person I have even seen that close to death.  We would tell her to tell Daddy Hi and give him a big hug for us, as well as our grandparents, several uncles and aunts, and many other family and loved ones that are already in Heaven. Our pastor said it sounded like we were sending her off on a big trip somewhere, and we were, more special than we even knew. It was a special night because we knew, and mama knew that she had nothing to fear. We could all now claim the verse that says, ‘to be absent with the body is to be present with the Lord’ and we knew that we would see her again someday, because this is another promise God gives us in His Word.

So as I write this through tears, I was to say THANK YOU! to our wonderful Lord for giving us the most special mom and dad that anyone could ever have. They loved each of their five children with an unconditional love, they knew what each of us liked and enjoyed, and did everything in their power to do those things for us. They didn’t have a lot of money to leave us, but they did leave us with enough love, and a legacy that will live on in the lives of each of their children, grandchildren and great grandchildren. But its not only family that will remember the legacy they left behind, they will be remembered in the lives of each person they can in contact with during their lives, because they touched each one in a special way.. I still met up with people that talk about mama and daddy and the impact they had on their lives. What a blessing they both were!

I love and miss you mama, what I would give to have one more chance to say that to you now. But I will see you again, and see daddy again, and I know he is thrilled to finally have you with him. We love and miss you both more than you will ever know. As I finish writing this, I think of yours and daddy’s favorite verse that you lived so well, Phil. 4:13, “I can do all things through Christ which strengthens me.”

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Anne Payne
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 05:27:06

    Joy, This is a precious tribute to your mama. I’m so sorry you’ve had to experience losing your parents. I know you miss them, especially your mom. There’s just something about always wanting to tell your mama something. I go through the same thing, even after 12 years of being without mine. I know the Lord has brought you comfort and I am so thankful that He shelters us and cares for us during our times of grief. Have a blessed day, my friend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

