A Farmer’s Daughter Cookbook by Dawn Stoltzfus

A Farmer’s Daughter Cookbook  by Dawn Stoltzfus

Recipes from a Mennonite Kitchen

 

ABOUT THIS BOOK

Over 200 mouthwatering recipes–fresh from the farm

I’m Dawn Stoltzfus. Welcome to my kitchen! I was raised on a Mennonite farm where simple, wholesome food was a key ingredient of the good life. Now I’m opening up my recipe box, wiping away the crumbs and wrinkles from the well-loved recipe cards, and sharing them with you. From Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls and Strawberry Shortcake to Old-Fashioned Beef Stew and Chicken and Herb Dumplings, all the best comfort foods I learned to cook from my mother are here, along with some dishes that may surprise you!

In addition to the simple, wholesome recipes for starters, main dishes, sides, and desserts, I share favorite stories from my Mennonite upbringing, tips and tricks for easy meal planning and preparation, and ideas for serving with flair.

If you enjoy feeding your family hearty, wholesome meals made with fresh ingredients and lots of love, please join me in the kitchen!

 

My Thoughts On This Book

This cookbook is written by Dawn Stoltzfus, who grew up on a Mennonite farm and is now sharing some of the family recipes with her readers. It is chunked full of really good sounding recipes. I enjoyed going through this book many times reading the recipes. The thing I enjoyed most about this cookbook though is the information about Dawn’s family that she has shared at the beginning of each chapter, and throughout the book. This is more than just a great cookbook, it is an insight into the Stoltzfus family and they way the grew up, as well as their family values. I appreciate the willingness of the author to share this with me, and the rest of the world who purchases her book.

This is such a wonderful cookbook and I hope you will pick up your copy soon. Don’t forget the Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays coming up. I’ve already picked out a few recipes I am going to try. I also found a wonderful peach cobbler recipe that I substituted apples and tried and it was yummy. And there is an apple and pecan salad in there that is wonderful as well! Grab your copy today and enjoy this wonderful family history.

Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

I received this book from Revell Publishers. I was not required or expected to write a positive review. The opinions in this review are my own.
ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Dawn Stoltzfus is a wife, a mother of two sweet little boys, and a lover of anything creative. She started and ran The Farmer’s Wife Market until 2008 when she sold it in order to stay at home to raise her family. She loves to cook, for one or three hundred, and sees cooking and entertaining as an opportunity to “be Jesus to people” and serve them out of love and joy rather than out of a sense of obligation. Her love for cooking was inspired by her mother and developed as she cooked for her family of six on their active, working dairy farm in Ohio.

Leave a Reply

