Interview and giveaway with Meg Moseley, Author of new debut book “When Sparrows Fall”

Interview with Meg Moseley, Author of  new debut book”When Sparrows Fall”

 

Hello bloggers, I am so happy today to have Meg Moseley her with us today. Meg’s debut novel “When Sparrows Fall” just came out and Meg is giving away one of her books to one blessed blogger this week. You will need to answer Meg’s questions in the interview to qualify for winning. And I want to thank Meg for taking time out of her busy schedule to be with us. Now for the interview.

 

Hello Meg, it’s great to have you on my blog today. Thank you so much for being here. Tell us a bit about yourself.

Thanks for having me, Joy!  Well, I’m a California girl, married to a Michigan man and living near Atlanta.  Our three children are grown and we’re nearly empty-nesters.  I love cats, gardening, motorcycles, the Detroit Red Wings, public libraries, poetry, coffee, and almost any form of chocolate.

Wow you sound like a busy lady Meg. I’m an empty-nester too but my son lives close by and I see him a lot. Still not like having them at home.  We are very happy you find time to write in the mist of your busy schedule.

 

How long have you been writing?

I’ve been writing something from the time I learned to spell, but I didn’t try writing a novel until about fourteen years ago.  I didn’t have a clue about how to go about it.  That miserable first attempt will never see the light of day.  I promise.

After reading your debut novel ‘When Sparrows Fall’ I can’t imagine it not being a good book!

 

What aspects of being a writer do you enjoy the most?

My favorite part so far has been working with an editor.  From the macro-edits to the picky details, I love the process of making a story better.  I want to learn as I go, so I’ll improve my writing as I move on to new stories.

 Editing has always been an interest to me. I keep wondering what the story was like before the edits. I think it would be interesting to read the before and after.

 

What is your favorite Scripture?

It varies, depending on what’s happening in my life, but one of my favorites is Galatians 5:1.  “For freedom Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not be subject again to the yoke of slavery.”

This is a wonderful scripture, and thanks for sharing that with us today. I wonder sometimes why we seem to often forget that do have freedom in Christ and we can stand firm in Him. Thank you for sharing this  Meg.

 

How do you find characters for your books? Are they influenced by family and friends?

I don’t think I’ve ever knowingly based a character on a real person, although some of them are a conglomeration of bits and pieces of real people.  I often start with a vague, murky idea that gradually becomes a “real” person as I play with details and try out different names. 

The characters in you book are so real and believable, it is amazing how you created them to seem that real, and they blend together in the story so well.

 

What are 4 things about yourself that most people wouldn’t know about ?

I grew up listening to opera, and I still enjoy it in small doses.

I’m a Larry Norman fan.  He wrote amazing lyrics.

When I lived in Alabama, I slept through a hurricane on purpose.  I figured somebody should be rested for the cleanup the next day.

I can’t swim worth beans.

Wow, I always like these questions…. thanks for sharing these bits of information about your life. I can relate to the swim one, not matter how I tried, I couldn’t seem to get it, even though I love to go swimming, I don’t let it go over my head!

 

 When will your next book be out?

I’m hoping for a release in the summer of 2012.

I, for one will be looking forward to next summer, and I know a lot of others will as well. You really have tons of fans out there. We thank you for entertaining us through your writing.

 

What are you working on now?

I’m working on a novel about a young woman who lost her father to a deep mountain lake when she was a teenager, but his body was never found.  Now it seems that he faked his drowning and ran to the wilderness.  As she and her longtime friends search for answers, they uncover memories of a mysterious event in their childhood that may explain everything.

Ok mysteries are some of my favorite books. I hope this is your new book you are talking about.I your next book. Only now I really can hardly wait!

 

Where can our readers find you?

At www.megmoseley.com and on Facebook.  I’m trying to figure out Twitter too, but I’m a bit of a techno-klutz so wish me luck.

LOL It too me a few years on Twitter but now that I am active, I love it. There is so much information you can get from Twitter, and you don’t have to answer back so it doesn’t take so much of your time.

 

Anything else you want to add?

I just want to thank you for being such an enthusiastic ambassador for fiction.  Readers like you bring untold joy to the heart of a novelist.

And thank you so much Meg for being here and sharing bits about your life and your books with us.  I love reading, and I love helping authors. I’m so glad I found a way to help all of you by reading and reviewing your books. And having you on my blog. I’m really thrilled you took time from your busy schedule to be here. We will look for your new book in the future, and while we are waiting, we will keep in touch and tell everyone we know about “When Sparrows Fall”

 

What question do you want to ask our readers?

When you pick up a novel, what will make you put it down without finishing it? 

Ok readers, here is the question you need to answer when you enter for the drawing to win Meg’s debut book “When Sparrows Fall.” And make sure you leave your email so I will know how to get in touch with you. And go to Facebook and to Meg’s website and support her with her first book.

Thanks to all of you readers for stopping by.

Go HERE to see my review of Meg’s book

 

34 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leeann Boone
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 15:39:51

    I just requested “When Sparrows Fall” to be put on hold at my library! I can’t wait to read it!

    Reply

  2. Leeann Boone
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 15:44:11

    I don’t know where we are supposed to put our answers to the question but…I’ll put a book down and not finish reading it if after say 5 chapters I just can’t get into to it or if I’m finding out that it won’t be a happy ending for either character!

    Reply

  3. Leanna Morris
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 15:57:25

    If a book doesn’t capture my interest from the first page, chances are I will put it down..or might read the first couple of chapters and if it doesn’t capture me, forget it! There are just too many books I want to read to waste time on something of little interest.

    Reply

  4. Emma Van Iwaarden
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 16:01:13

    Too much dialog especially if it’s regarding psychological gibberish. I prefer descriptions of the surroundings, events or actions rather than too much dialog. I pre-ordered When Sparrow’s Fall. Loved it, couldn’t put it down. Gave a copy to my local library.

    Reply

  5. Linda
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 16:18:17

    I’ve quit only when the novel is totally non-Scriptural and the author continues to bring out that issue. But that’s been very few. I usually read it to see if their view changes.

    Reply

  6. charlotte kay
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 16:18:54

    I put down a book when the characters begin cursing.
    there are a lot of good reads out there, and I don’t waste my time on these type of books.
    I am grateful for this giveaway.

    Blesssings and Smiles,
    Charlotte Kay

    Reply

  7. Judy Burgi
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 16:48:16

    When I start a book it needs to capture my interest from the very first pages. If it doesn’t, I will read maybe 3 chapters to see if it gets any better. If it doesn’t, I won’t waste my time on it.

    The main characters need to come alive in those first few pages. I really like when an author describes these characters fully. Quite frankly, there have been very few books that I have not read cover to cover.

    Romance in a book is o.k., but please no sleezy bedroom scenes. That is a definite turn-off and I will not fill my mind with trash.

    God Bless,
    Judy

    Reply

  8. Rebecca
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 19:55:38

    I will put down a book and not finish it if I don’t like how the characters are acting. For instance if they are acting stupid and make me mad I will put it down. Also language can cause me to put down a book. I don’t like reading bad language. Thank you so much for the chance to win this book. It looks great. Thanks again.

    agent_beckster(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Reply

  9. Judy Burgi
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 20:19:11

    I forgot to leave my e-mail address! What was I thinking?! Oh, I wasn’t !! It’s been a long day!

    judyjohn2004[at]yahoo[dot]com

    Reply

  10. Patsy
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 21:35:22

    What makes me put a book down before reading all of it is that I can’t get into the book. Just can’t stick with it. Another thing is bad language. I won a book a while back and thought it was going to be a great book, but after reading the first 10 pages I couldn’t read any more. I hate to say it but I threw the book away. I didn’t even want to pass it along to others. When Sparrows Fall sounds like a good read. Would enjoy reading it.
    plhouston(at)bellsouth(dot)net

    Reply

  11. Julie Lessman
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 21:41:16

    HEY MEG!! IF THE BOOK DOESN’T GRAB ME IN THE FIRST COUPLE OF PAGES, I’M DONE. AND IT THERE IS TOO MUCH NARRATIVE AND NOT ENOUGH DIALOGUE, I’M DONE.

    JULIE
    GSUS(AT)CHARTER(DOT)NET

    Reply

  12. Laken Bailey
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 22:26:31

    You can’t make me put down a book once I have picked it up. lol. Even if I am not that into it..I HAVE to finish what I started!!

    LAKEN

    Reply

  13. Christine Gant
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 22:27:42

    Hi Joy…it’s been nice talking to you during the Birthday Bash.
    Please put me in the drawing to win Meg’s book. TU…

    Reply

  14. Meg Moseley
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 23:18:08

    Hi, everybody! Thanks for all your input. I’ll be checking back to see what else everybody has to say. Thanks for hosting me, Joy!

    Reply

  15. Ann Lee Miller
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 11:37:16

    I love this question! It is really difficult for me to turn off a bad movie or stop reading a book I don’t care for. I HAVE to know what happens. If I don’t like a book, usually I’ll skim to the end to satisfy my curiosity. I will quit a book without skimming if there is no conflict, the writing is truly dreadful, the book is excessively crude, or it depresses me.

    Reply

  16. Jo
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 13:14:52

    I can’t wait to read this book. It sounds so fantastic.

    Reply

  17. Merry
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 15:45:22

    I need to be captured by a spark of life or adventure to carry me into a book. I will give it a few chapters before I give up. It is awesome to be taken captive right away! If it is a Christian title, I really want to find a thread of faith to encourage and edify. Some inspirational fiction tries so hard not to be preachy they go totally the other way… I’ve trashed a few of those with great disappointment. Meg, your book sounds wonderful, I look forward to reading it whether I win or not. 🙂
    worthy2bpraised at gmail dot com

    Reply

  18. Trackback: splashesofjoy
  19. brendabh
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 21:35:36

    Usually a book I can’t put down is a story that catches my interest by the 2nd chapter. Sometimes I may have to read 4-5 chapters before I get involved with the story and then I can’t put the book down. I look forward to reading “When Sparrow’s Fall” as it sounds like a mystery with suspense which I love. I am adding to my wish list. Thanks for stopping by to chat and share with us today Meg.

    Reply

  20. Meg Moseley
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 22:30:50

    Thanks for all the comments, everybody. If we were all in a book group together, I think we would get along just fine.

    I’ll try to stop in again when I can, but I should explain that my mom died yesterday so I won’t be online as much as I’d like to be. I’ll miss her very much, but I know she’s in the presence of the Lord. If she were here, she would tell us to carry on with the discussion. She read the novel when it was still in manuscript form, and we had some great talks about spiritual abuse, legalism, and the grace of God. So…in honor of my mom, please continue with your comments and have fun!!
    I’ll stop in now and then, when I can.

    Meg

    Reply

  21. Debbie Clark
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 22:56:08

    There will be times that I just can’t get into a book after the first two chapters. Funny thing. If I put it down & come back to it a couple of months later, I find out Wow! It’s a good book. It just wasn’t time to read it earlier. That being said, if the first chapter bogs me down with a slow pace, I will probably put it down. I might read it later and I might not.

    When Sparrows Fall sounds like an excellent read. Please enter me in the drawing. Thanks for the chance to win.

    Debbie Clark
    debbiemcla[at]msn[dot]com

    Reply

  22. Carrie A. Larks
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 11:46:36

    There are very few things that make me not finish a book. Bad language/situations or if the plot is not clear. I feel very dedicated to finish a book once I start it. I will always give it a chance to improve.

    Thank you for the opportunity to win this book.

    Reply

  23. karenk
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 12:11:07

    hi meg…looking forward to reading your novel…re: your question…i love a book that grabs my attention in the first few pages…great question

    Reply

  24. Jessy
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 09:34:58

    The only book i did that with was Breaking Dawn by Stephanie Meyer… I just couldn’t get into it after the first part .. I think it took me like a month to finish..lol. But most of the time i finish the books even if i don’t like the way the endings going.

    Reply

  25. Christine Lindsay
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 11:43:39

    I may be too late, but I’ll throw my name in the hat. I’d love to read this book, it sounds like just the sort of romantic, spiritually uplifting book I love. christine(dot) d (dot) schmidtke (at) gmail (dot) com

    Reply

  26. Deborah Leathers
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 10:12:10

    I agree with the majority, cursing, too much dialogue, but I normally will just skip pass that part, and read on. I have rarely put a book down. I am careful about what kinds of books I read anyways, most of the authors I read are AWESOME!!!
    Meg-I am so sorry to hear about your mother, praying for you during this difficult time.
    I am excited about this drawing and the book.
    Deborah
    dleathers36(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Reply

  27. Martha A.
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 11:32:14

    When I pick up a book and put it down without finishing it, it is normally a couple of things.
    A book written in the first person, I will often put down as it is harder for me to connect with them sometimes. On occasion if I picked up a book and it is filled with more graphic things than I choose to expose myself to, or swear words, I will put it down. If it is poorly written, choppy and hard to follow, I have often set a book down, sometimes never finishing it, but other times attempting several times.

    This book looks interesting to me! I am always curious when someone writes a book about a religious cult, and wonder if you have had experience being a part of one? Often I am interested and wonder if they will hit the mark! I was involved in a very strict religious cult group in the past, so it is always interesting for me to see!

    Reply

    • Martha A.
      Jun 20, 2011 @ 11:33:15

      When I pick up a book and put it down without finishing it, it is normally a couple of things.
      A book written in the first person, I will often put down as it is harder for me to connect with them sometimes. On occasion if I picked up a book and it is filled with more graphic things than I choose to expose myself to, or swear words, I will put it down. If it is poorly written, choppy and hard to follow, I have often set a book down, sometimes never finishing it, but other times attempting several times.

      This book looks interesting to me! I am always curious when someone writes a book about a religious cult, and wonder if you have had experience being a part of one? Often I am interested and wonder if they will hit the mark! I was involved in a very strict religious cult group in the past, so it is always interesting for me to see! martha (at)lclink(dot)com

      Reply

  28. Meg Moseley
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 10:49:07

    Hi, everybody! I appreciate all your comments and your interest in When Sparrows Fall. I’ll come back and visit with you soon. My mom’s funeral was yesterday so I’m taking a little time off. Meanwhile, if you’d like to sign up for my e-newsletter, go to http://www.megmoseley.com and scroll down to the bottom for the subscription form. It’s ready to go out tomorrow, so if you sign up today you’ll receive it. Thanks and God bless you all. I’ll be back soon!

    Meg

    Reply

  29. Lori Lochner
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 10:58:21

    If the book does not grab my attention and keep my interest in the first or second chapter I will probably not finish it. I love a book where I can connect to the characters – when an author makes them come alive is also a way to keep my ongoing interest in a book. If I don’t feel a connection to the characters then I also have a hard time reading a book.

    So very sorry to hear of your mother’s passing Meg – my deepest sympathy is with you and your family at this difficult time.

    Please enter me in the drawing – your book sounds like a good one!

    Blessings,
    Lori

    Reply

  30. Lori Lochner
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 11:00:01

    Oops – forgot my email address: triplel(at)evertek(dot)net.

    Lori

    Reply

  31. Trackback: 2 giveaways on my blog…last day for one « splashesofjoy
  32. Tisha Cleveland
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 16:33:03

    Meg, I would love to win your book! Please enter me in the drawing. Tisha

    Reply

  33. Meg Moseley
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 09:18:16

    Hi, everybody. I’m home again and trying to catch up. I wanted to answer Martha A.’s question about whether I’ve ever been involved in a religious cult. No, I’ve never been involved in anything that I consider a cult, but I’ve been close enough to observe a lot of cult-like teachings and practices. That’s one of the reasons I wrote “When Sparrows Fall.” I wanted to point out the dangers of these groups that claim to be biblical when they’re really not.

    I still haven’t sent out my newsletter, so it’s not too late to subscribe at http://www.megmoseley.com. I hope to send it out tonight (June 23). And thanks again to Joy for hosting the giveaway and the discussion!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

