The River Rose By: Gilbert Morris….Plus Giveaway!

The River Rose

By: Gilbert Morris

BOOK BLURB

Life hasn’t been easy for Jeanne Bettencourt, a widow approaching thirty and
struggling to provide for her eight-year-old daughter. But hope arrives in the
form of the Helena Rose, a steamboat she unexpectedly inherits from a
distant, departed relative. Jeanne’s father had captained a similar vessel and
taught her how to pilot a steamer along the banks of Memphis. She’s looking
forward to a renewed livelihood on the mighty Mississippi.

However, as plans are made, news comes of another heir to the Helena Rose – a tough
man named Clint Hardin – and a clause in the will that says claimants of the
estate must live aboard the boat. Jeanne, a Christian woman, makes it clear she
won’t stay with a man who is not her husband. But both are desperate for work,
so they agree to keep their distance as Clint occupies the lower deck and Jeanne
takes the captain’s quarters.

As they restore the Helena Rose, the
slowly softening Clint becomes attracted to Jeanne – who is now being courted by
a wealthy plantation owner. With her family and future at stake, the desires of
Jeanne’s heart are duly complex. Only her simple faith can navigate her through
what’s about to happen.

The River Rose is Book 2 in a three-book series. However, The River Roseis a stand-alone novel – there is zero overlap in characters or plot lines between the books. They are a series in the sense that all three books take place on Mississippi River paddle wheelers during the 1850s.
MY THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK

Jeanne Bettencourt is hardly able to make ends meet for she and her six year-old daughter working as a maid at an upstanding Memphis hotel. She is saving back a small a mount of money to purchase a house for themselves, but it will take a while. Jeanne grew up on the river, her parents owning a boat making runs on the Mississippi and Arkansas rivers.

Clint is an engineer who has made his way as a boxer, what time he’s not out womanizing, that is. He never knew his dad, and his mom wasn’t exactly the model mom, so he didn’t grow up in a happy household.

Two very different people, never dreaming of being brought together, especially through distant relatives, making Clint and Jeanne joint owners of their own riverboat. But how were they suppose to run a riverboat? Or how could they both live on the boat? And who would be captain? Well, as you read “The River Rose,” you will find the answer to these questions and more.

This is just a wonderful interesting read during the 1800’s riverboat era. Gilbert Morris creates a cast of characters that I grew to love and appreciate as I read this book. They work together to make the story enjoyable and interesting, and peak the interest of the readers. I loved Clint’s growing relationship with Marvel. And it wasn’t to just win Jeanne over; he had a genuine love for her. And on the other hand, George Masters acted like she was more in the way, not wanting Marvel with he and Jeanne on their dates. And did Masters just disappear into the clear blue yonder? Or maybe will return in the third book? That will be interesting to find out!

I highly recommend this book for anyone wanting a good book to read! And if you like historical fiction, this is a must for you! You will not be disappointed, and you will not want to put the book down until you read the last page! Grab a copy to read and enjoy for yourself.

I received a copy of this book from B&H Publishing Group to read and review. I was not required or expected to write a positive review. The opinions here in this review are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Here are the links to Gilbert’s online outposts: Please visit Gilbert often and let him know you were there! Since he is new to the internet, lets give him a warm, loving, Christian welcome!

Website and Blog: http://www.gilbertmorris.com/

Blog Feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/GilbertMorris  (there’s also a link on his blog)

E-Newsletter (to receive subscriber-only giveaways & previews of his upcoming novels): http://gilbertmorris.com/news.htm

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/gilbertmorrisbooks

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/gilbert_morris

Pinterest: https://twitter.com/#!/gilbert_morris

FOR THE GIVEAWAY AND >>>>GIVEAWAY ENDS >>>>>>>AUGUST 22,2012

Leave a comment for a chance to win a copy of Gilbert Morris’ “The River Rose”

For an extra entry go HERE and rate my review. Tell me in your comment that you rated the review.

You MUST leave your email. If you win and there is no email address, I will choose another winner.

Thank you much.

Joy

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marianne
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 23:32:16

    i rated both this review and Scent of Cherry Blossoms. i follow you via email. It’s been a while since i read a novel by Gilbert Morris, and this one sounds like just the one to get me started again. Thanks for the post and great opportunity to win!

    marianneDOTwanhamATgmailDOTcom

    Reply

  2. Diana Flowers
    Aug 09, 2012 @ 08:10:41

    I rated this review and Scent of Cherry Blossoms, which I still have sitting on my table just itching to be read! I absolutely love books AND movies about life on a riverboat and actually just recently read and reviewed a book with a storyline very similar to this one. Thank you for the opportunity to win this one!

    Reply

  3. Anita Yancey
    Aug 12, 2012 @ 13:21:04

    I rated your review. This sounds like a wonderful book. I love that it takes place in the 1800’s and is about life on a riverboat. It definitely makes for interesting reading. Please enter me. Thanks!
    ayancey(at)dishmail(dot)net

    Reply

  4. Diana Flowers
    Aug 12, 2012 @ 22:51:44

    I didn’t leave my email addy on the above comment, Joy, since it gives a place to leave it below. But just in case its: dianalflowers[at]aol[dot]com Thank you, dear!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Two New Giveaways of ‘The River Rose’ | Gilbert Morris
  6. Amy C
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 20:11:30

    This is a Great post. I am hoping to read this novel soon.

    Rated the review.

    Thanks

    Campbellamyd at gmail dot com

    Reply

  7. Anna Weaver
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 11:31:30

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    writer_weaverATyahooDOTcom

    Reply

  8. Liz Riggs
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 00:51:50

    Sounds like a really good book, thanks for the giveaway!

    Rated your review.

    ecriggs1990(at)aol(dot)com

    Reply

  9. Patty
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 09:37:57

    Thanks for the review. I haven’t read a Gibert Morris book in years, I look forward to reading this one!

    I rated your review here and the one on The Scent of Cherry Blossoms.

    Patty
    pattymh2000(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Reply

  10. Lane Hill House
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 11:26:14

    I just finished Lily by Diane T. Ashley and Aaron McCarver ~ Song of the River, Book No. One. I think you might enjoy this book as it sounds similar to your reviewed riverboat book. I would like to be entered in the drawing for The River Rose. Thank you. Kathleen
    lanehillhouse[at]centurylink[dot]net

    Reply

  11. Lane Hill House
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 11:34:36

    I rated your review at blogging for books. I do have this book (The Scent of Cherry Blossoms) and have previous books ahead of it to read. Kathleen
    lanehillhouse[at]centurylink[dot]net

    Reply

  12. Samantha K
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 12:26:30

    I would love to be entered into the drawing for The River Rose! I have read the first book in the series already and loved it…
    samanthaakuiper(at)gmail(dot)com

    Reply

  13. Melissa Finnegan
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 13:45:05

    I love riverboats so this cover draws me in. I would love the chance to win.

    Reply

  14. Beth C
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 15:02:32

    I think this looks like a book I would really enjoy. Thanks!

    Reply

  15. Beth C
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 15:03:17

    I rated your review.
    pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

    Reply

  16. ausjenny
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 18:03:47

    Can an Aussie enter? I love Gilberts books and have the first on in this series. Would love to win the book.
    ausjenny at gmail dot com

    Reply

  17. splashesofjoy
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 23:11:42

    Thank you for all of your comments! I know you will love River Rose as much as I did. And thanks for rating my review on Blogging for Books. Rest assured that I will add your extra entry into the drawing.
    And…hope you will come back soon!
    Blessings….Joy

    Reply

  18. Diana Flowers
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 23:24:32

    Kathleen (Lane Hill House), I loved Lily, too, and am amazed at the similarities between these two books. I love riverboat books and movies. Loved the old Tammy riverboat movies and Showboat, which were both before your time, Joy! lol!

    dianalflowers[at]aol[dot] com

    Reply

  19. Deanna Mundy
    Apr 23, 2013 @ 02:08:19

    I am a hugh Gilbert Morris fan. I own all but one or two of his 40 book series of The House of Winslow series. He is my all time favorite historical Christian fiction writer. I would love to win.

    I tried to rate your review but the internet would not bring the page up. It just kept spinning.

    deamundy(at)gmail(dot)com

    Reply

  20. Deanna Mundy
    Apr 23, 2013 @ 02:13:24

    Never mind the comment about the rating. I figured it out and rated your review.

    deamundy(at)gmail(dot)com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 449 other followers