The Common English Bible Translation

Welcome To My Review of

The Common English Bible Translation


Common English Bible from Common English Bible on Vimeo.

Go HERE to view the website for more information on the Common English Bible

My Thoughts on this Bible

I enjoy reviewing different Bibles, so when this became available I chose it to review. The Common English Bible has Special Features that other Bibles do not have. These features are:  This Bible translation is the work of 120 leading Bible scholars from 24 denominations and tested by over 75 reading groups in 13 denominations. All of these great people used their Bible knowledge to create a translation of the Bible that is accurate and easy to read and understand in modern English.

There are a few special pages in the front of this Bible that list a few very interesting things for me, which are: Abbreviations and Terms, Measures – Capacity and Linear measures and Monetary measures, and a Hebrew Calendar page. I love this feature since I don’t know anything about these things. There is also a few pages included in the Preface that explains about the Common English Translation.

One of my favorite Bible passages is Proverbs 3:56. Here it is in a few translations to compare:

King James Version
5Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.

6In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.

NIV
5Trust in the LORD with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
6 in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.

Common English Bible
5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart;
don’t rely on your own intelligence.
6 Know him in all your paths,
and he will keep your ways straight.

And I think everyone’s favorite is John 3:16. Here it is in these translations.

KJV
16For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

NIV
16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

Common English Bible
16 God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him won’t perish but will have eternal life.

Do we really need all of these different translations? Well for me, I like having one of each translation so I can the verses or passages from each one. Saying the same thing in a little different way helps me understand what I am reading so much more. So this new translation is awesome for me. I have enjoyed reading different areas of this Bible to give me a better understanding of what I am reading. To me, we can’t have too many Bible Study tools, and that’s what I think is great about the new Common English Bible.

I encourage you to pick up a copy and check it out for yourself. I have the paper copy and it is a very nice size, doesn’t take up a lot of room and just the right size to carry along in your Bible cover with your other Bible.

I want to thank Audra Jennings at B&B Media Group for providing a copy of this Bible to read and review. I was not expected to write a positive review. The opinions in this review are mine only.

Purchase the Bible at Amazon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 450 other followers